Where do You Find Items to Sell on eBay?

img_0319

Where do you find inventory?  Personally, I have a routine for finding inventory.  When I first started selling on eBay, I just sold items from around the house.  Then, I upgraded to selling items from friends and family members for a small fee.  Now I go to at least twelve different stores when searching for inventory, and I am posting over one hundred listings a week!   Over the next few days I want to share the secrets of my routine for finding inventory.  Below are a list of stores that I visit weekly:

  • Big Lots
  • Costco
  • Dollar Stores
  • DSW
  • Famous Footwear
  • Goodwill
  • Target
  • Salvation Army
  • Sams Club
  • Ulta Cosmetics
  • Walgreen
  • Wal-Mart

Each one of these stores provides a consistent money-making experience.  I also shop online at Craigslist.com, Fatwallet.com, Woot.com, and more.  My routine is based off of each stores mark-down schedule.  Each store has its own day that it marks down new items onto a clearance gold mine!

Let’s start with my favorite – Target

For me, Target is where it all started.  Target is the inventory oasis that provides the most consistent experience.  Target has its own unique inventory mark-down schedule.

  • Monday: Kids Clothes and Electronics
  • Tuesday: Women’s Clothes an Domestics
  • Wednesday: Men’s Clothes, Toys, Health, and Beauty
  • Thursday: Lingerie, Shoes, Housewares, and Sporting Goods
  • Friday: Cosmetics, Hardware, Auto, and Jewelry

Electronics, Toys, and Sporting Goods are all highlighted because these are the big money makers.  I have a rule, and that is to never buy anything to sell if it is not marked down 75%.  eBay is a buyers market, and in order to make money you have to buy cheap.  Trust me on this, even if it looks like a great deal at 50% off, you will lose money.

Lastly, where are these items located?  At Target, all clearance items are located at the end of an isle on an end cap.  These clearance items are clearly marked.  You will notice that in the top right hand of the clearance sticker you will see the percentage off clearly marked.  Also, throughout the store there are clearance signs sticking out in the aisle.  Once you start looking for these signs your eye will become a trained ninja!  You will start to spot them even when you are not looking for them.

*Bonus – Keep an eye out for clearance video games!  They sell great on eBay!  I will do an entire post on that coming soon.

For more ideas on what to sell (and where to find them), check out my FREE book, “The Keys to a Successful eBay Business”.

Leave a Reply

