Want an easy sale? List some Hair Curlers!

IMG_0314.JPG

I’ll never forget the first time I was shopping at Goodwill and found a pair of the blue Remington Tight Curl Curlers. If it wasn’t for the TalkBoy sitting right next to these money makers, I probably would have walked right past them.  At the time, selling items from Goodwill was completely new to me.  In order to find out whether or not I could make money – I had to check the completed listings on the eBay mobile app.  My mouth almost dropped when I saw that those same curlers were selling for over $50 used. Goodwill was selling them for only $2, so I knew it was a home run.  But why?

The Remington Tight Curl Curlers are not the only set that will bring you in the big bucks. Let’s take a look at a few that have recently sold, and pay attention to the titles of each of these completed listings. You will see a theme. Every listing makes reference to Pageants. These old and used hair curlers provide the perfect curl for the toddler and tiara type of shows. It doesn’t matter that they are used, if it helps win the competition, then the parents will fish out the dough.  Take a look at a few of the sold listings below:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This is an excellent time to point out the value to checking every “eye-catching” item at thrift stores. You truly never know what an item is worth to someone else! Using this type of thinking has to lead me to some crazy finds in my day. Here is a list of my most interesting finds:

  1. A box of tampons: YepI bought for less than a dollar and made over $60.
  2. Three bottles of cleaner: It was to be used in a machine that was discontinued. (Bought for less than a dollar per bottle and make over $30 each.)
  3. Water damaged ink: I found several boxes of old ink that were heavily water damaged for less than $3 each. I sold most of them for $30 and some for over $50. It turns out that they were solid ink bars and the water did no damage.
  4. Old Coke rugby shirt: This shirt had several holes and looked like it was worn in an actual rugby game. Bought it for $4 and sold it for $150.
  5. Electronic Face Shocker: That’s not the real name, but it does a good job describing what it does. It’s called a face exerciser. I found it in a zip lock bag for .50 cents and sold it for $70.

I really could go on and on, but the point I’m trying to make is that you can’t judge a book by its cover. It may not look like much to you, but someone else may be willing to pay big bucks for it! What is your craziest find?  Share in the comments below.

Hey – If you like these posts, subscribe to this blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

