Stop Shopping and Start Buying!

img_0330

I don’t mind admitting, early on in my eBay career I found myself missing out on a lot of money. I found myself shopping around for eBay inventory but over looking the items that had no use to me. It took me a while, but I figured it out. When shopping for eBay inventory, you can NEVER shop for yourself. I had the mindset that if I didn’t like the item, then no one else would. I would buy things that I thought for sure would be a home-run, but soon realize that no one wanted a Blackberry Branded Beach Towel, but for me. This is a common problem with both new eBayers and tenured eBayers alike, but can easily be fixed!

I get emails every other day regarding this issue. Some claim that they don’t have the “Eye” for shopping. That’s the key word right there – Shopping. You are not shopping; you are buying! Buying for other people who are going to want your item, and that does not mean that you have to like it. Here is how I overcame this mindset.

img_0331I’m sitting in my car and staring at the Thrift Store door. I knew this day was going to be different because I told myself that I’m NOT going to pick up any item that I think would be good. Not even if I knew that it would be a home-run. I walked through that door and spent almost two hours in there. I picked up every ugly and unpractical item you could imagine, but I checked the completed listings on my phone. 95% of the items were worthless, but about mid trip, I found something that I normally would not have looked at, and I’m glad I did. I found a Dermal Tone Facial Exerciser.

I know I have mentioned this item before, but it is worth mentioning again! This item alone changed the way I look at eBay inventory. I found this item sitting all by itself, and I had no idea what it was! When I looked it up on eBay and saw that it was going for over $70 I was amazed (especially since I got for under a dollar). I would have missed out on this excellent item if I kept to my old way.

Remember you can NOT go shopping for yourself, but instead start buying for others!

To get updates on where to buy inventory and other eBay tips, subscribe to this blog!

Leave a Reply

