How I made $2,425 selling one item from Big Lots

img_0332

Shopping at Big Lots for eBay inventory can be a bit challenging. They have a lot of merchandise, but it can be hard to distinguish what the Hot Selling items may be. Usually, I look for discontinued items or items that are just hard to find, but I happened to find one little gem that was able to bring me in almost $2,500! Before I reveal the “hot” item, I want to share the items that I have had success with in the past. This will give you a good idea of what to look for while shopping at Big Lots.

1. Red Bull Cola – I ended up selling thousands of these all over the world!

2. Colgate Wisps – At one time, BL had an eight pack of Wisps for only $1. I bought as many as I could find, and sold them all on eBay.

3. Red Bull Shot – This is a small energy drink that was a fast seller and easy to ship.

4. Several Brands of Mens Deodorant – For some reason, people get attached to their deodorant, so when it’s hard to find, they are willing to pay the big bucks to get it.

5. Oreo’s – Seasonal Oreo packaging seems to be a consistent seller!

Those were some of my top money makers from Big Lots, but my latest find takes the cake. Drum rol please…. The item that made me $2,425 profit was the Emerson HD Action Cam.

I first found this camera on the Big Lots online ad for $39.99. It resembles the “Go Pro” camera and has a lot of the same features. I checked the completed listings, and there was only one other seller at the time, but he/she was selling them every day for a decent profit! I went to my first Big Lots and looked around for about 10 minutes, but I couldn’t find the item. When I asked the Big Lots employee about the item, she said that she has never seen it before. I was feeling defeated as I was walking out the door, but I happened to glance at the locked up cage and there it was. Matter of fact, there were seven at this location, so I bought them all.

I listed them as soon as I got to my car. It only took a day to sell through them, so I took the money I made and went to two more Big Lots and bought all of their Emerson HD Action Cam’s. By utilizing Craigslist, eBay, and Amazon, this cycle went on for a month and a half, and I ended up selling 237 of these with an average profit of $10.22 per unit. Sales started to slow down towards the end, and the inventory has been drying up, but this has been my most successful item I have bought and resold from Big Lots.

My point of this story is to encourage you to take a look at all items from Big Lots and consider it for eBay inventory. It’s best to start with their weekly ad and visit the store to see if anythings stands out. You never know what hot item you may find.

If you’d like to know more about what items to sell, along with tips and tricks – subscribe to this blog!

Leave a Reply

