Easy to Find – Money Maker

IMG_0353.JPG

The Sony Walkman – this brings back good memories. Walking down the street, listening to the latest MC Hammer cassette tape. I thought I was cool! I remember when I bought my first Sony Walkman. It was the latest and greatest technology, and I could either listen to FM radio or whatever tape I could carry. When I was done listening to the first side I simply flipped it over to side B. Technology sure has advanced since then, but the Sony Walkman is still in high demand!

Sure there are “newer” digital versions of a Sony Walkman that allow you to play MP3’s, but those are not the ones that sell well on eBay. The vintage Sony Walkman (from the 80’s) is what’s HOT! There are a few reasons why people want these beautiful electronics again, and it may not be why you’d think. I have sold many of these on eBay before, and just out of curiosity, I asked the buyer why they wanted an old Sony Walkman. Here is what they said:

1. Battery Life: A couple of buyers stated that they only wanted it for the FM radio and that the Sony Walkman has the best battery life.

2. Collectors: I had some buyer tell me that they are just a fan of older technology, and they wanted to add it to their collection.

3. Party: One other buyer told me that they are going to an 80’s party and wanted it as an accessory.

I’m sure there are other reasons why people want these, but whatever the reason is, I am happy to sell it to them! Let us take a look at some completed listings:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As you can see, the Vintage Sony Walkman is worth some real money! So where do you find these? The answer is, EVERYWHERE! A lot of people don’t understand the value of the Walkman, so they sell them for $1 at garage sales or $2 at thrift stores. Even some people on eBay will do a buy it now for under $5.

Make sure you are paying attention to the model of the Walkman, and utilize the Completed Listings feature. Not all Walkman’s are worth the same amount, and of course, the older, the better. Try to stay away from any cassette Walkman’s that have a digital display. Those are too new. Lastly, make sure it works. You may have to buy a cassette tape from Goodwill for $.50, but it will be worth it. The last thing you want is to have an angry buyer!

f you are wanting more tips and tricks, you can get my ebook, “The Keys to a Successful eBay Business” HERE

Leave a Reply

